CAofW - Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

not tyson
Grammy Winner
Height: 186cm

CAofW - Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Post by not tyson »

Ladies and gentlemen I present to you one of the great albums of our (and for Kittaan previous) generations albums. I always called this the crowing achievement in hip hop, as it transcends it. It's comparable to Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club in terms of what that did for rock, this did for hip hop. Kanye fucking owned pop hip hop for the longest time, then went on to release 808's and heartbreaks, a fucking amazing album, but hated on by a lot of critics (most of which was redacted because critics are fucking idiots.) I knew Kanye was on point and different from other hip hop artists way back when he first released the video for The New Work Out Plan. As a reactionary artist I'm shocked that people we're suprised to see New Slaves on the new album, seeing how he included that poignant poem by Gil Scott-Heron "Comment No.1". As an aside this is one of the limited albums given a perfect 10 by that much maligned pitchfork, but fuck me if this isn't a perfect album.

Screams from the haters, guess it has a nice ring to it.

hellboy
Site Admin
Height: 182cm

Re: CAofW - Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Post by hellboy »

Definitely not a perfect album. Not sure what you means about being hated by critics, as I remember this being pretty much universally hailed as being good when it came out. Probably depends on what critics you're talking about - mainstream critics I certainly don't give any creedence to.

Personally I think the album is about a 6/10, but I'm really not one to be rendering too much judgement on hip hop albums. I commend Kanye's approach to hip hop, as he seems willing to push the boundaries of it a little, however largely the album didn't do much for me. Highlights for me were Dark Fantasy, Gorgeous, Hell of a Life and Power.
MOG
Scissorman

Post by MOG »