Let's see what this does. A thread for exploration of forum functions.

Discuss the peculiarities of the forum. Feedback, complaints, suggestions are all welcome.
Lizbet
Bronco's Fan
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:43 pm

Post by Lizbet » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:52 am

This font looks different now. 

Lizbet
Bronco's Fan
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:43 pm

Post by Lizbet » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:53 am


Lizbet said
This font looks different now. 



I think the quote function is acting differently.

 

Apparently not.

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:03 am

Ψ Ηλρρψ ςΗληυκλΗ↓
Don't mow your lawn

Lizbet
Bronco's Fan
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:43 pm

Post by Lizbet » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:17 am

And I shall be able to type café. 

 

User avatar
bigboy55693
Geacon
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:59 am

Post by bigboy55693 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:23 am

Still working on links:

 

Made with {url=XXX}Title{/url}

Tool EMEK -


 

Tried using the insert link button again with this one and it still doesnt work like i think it should:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/121005137994?ss ... 1423.l2649

 

 

Guess ill just use the coding method over the insert link button method.
aMAnAPlAnACaNalPaNamA

User avatar
hellboy
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:01 pm
Height: 182cm
Contact:

Post by hellboy » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:12 am

bigboy55693 said 
Guess ill just use the coding method over the insert link button method.


Sorry bigboy, I really don't understand the problem.  Perhaps you could try explaining it to me again.

User avatar
bigboy55693
Geacon
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:59 am

Post by bigboy55693 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:32 am

This is how I am trying to use the "Insert/Edit Link" button

I paste a URL into this text area.

I select that URL and click the Insert/Edit Link [URL button]. 

That dialog box asks for 3 user definitions: (1) Link URL (2) Target [Open in window, or open in new window} and (3) Title

I again paste the link into (1), then select open in new window for (2), then I title (3) as something more descriptive than a URL.

 

Problem is that after I click insert URL/aka finish what I asked the forum to do button, the link in the page is not titled.  It is just the URL long form that is hyper-linked.  It is functional, but the informative title that I input for (3) is missing and this defeats the purpose of the button.

 

As show in that other post above I can do what I want it to do with the coding {url=http://www.randomwebsite.com}Random Website Descriptive Title{/url}

However, I thought the purpose of the button was to make me not have to type that code every time?
aMAnAPlAnACaNalPaNamA

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:36 am

You're supposed to type what you want the url to say, then highlight and insert the link into whatever you want to call it.

 
If I wanted to call a link "BANANAS" I would type "BANANAS" then highlight and insert into that word.
 
 

 


bananas


 

That doesn't seem to be working for me either.

 

Fuck why can't I get this to work. The word just turns purple and gets underlined but there's no link.
Don't mow your lawn

User avatar
ilikecheese
Hey Jude
Posts: 2429
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:38 pm

Post by ilikecheese » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:51 am

fucking monkeys
The above post is entertainment. It is most likely not directed at any individual unless specified. Any other interpretation, gleaning, or reckoning, of this post without the express, written, consent of Cheese, is strictly prohibited.

User avatar
hellboy
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:01 pm
Height: 182cm
Contact:

Post by hellboy » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:59 am

bigboy55693 said
This is how I am trying to use the "Insert/Edit Link" button

I paste a URL into this text area.

I select that URL and click the Insert/Edit Link [URL button]. 

 


You're doing it backwards.  Type the text you want into the text area, then highlight it and add the URL.

User avatar
bigboy55693
Geacon
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:59 am

Post by bigboy55693 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:22 pm

Ok so like this:

 


Michael Jackson jacket

 

 

--- Success! thanks for the input
aMAnAPlAnACaNalPaNamA

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:32 pm

Test test this is only a test.
Don't mow your lawn

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:37 pm


Don't mow your lawn

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:50 pm

I think I got this linking thing down.

 


Don't mow your lawn

b_hilburn
Maynard Believer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:59 pm

Post by b_hilburn » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:13 pm

I go hibernating for a "few weeks" and come back and find the forum completely dead...alas it's been moved! Hellboy...tsk tsk! :0t

 

I think I like it though!

User avatar
hellboy
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:01 pm
Height: 182cm
Contact:

Post by hellboy » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:38 am

Old forum will be coming down shortly! Looks like no one really cares about old threads being migrated across (myself included).

User avatar
badkittygothgirl
Stinkyfist
Posts: 1011
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:23 pm
Contact:

Post by badkittygothgirl » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:26 am

I rescued the feed back thread.  That was the only one I really cared about.  Now if I could just gain access to my pm's, that would be great.  

User avatar
The Boss
LSDeeeeeee
Posts: 5784
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:28 pm
Height: Not A Fucking Manlet
Location: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by The Boss » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:49 am

hellboy1975 said
Old forum will be coming down shortly! Looks like no one really cares about old threads being migrated across (myself included).


There-there were old threads still active?

 
O love will you read the letters I will send to you.

User avatar
basejumper
Djangerous
Posts: 1552
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:13 am
Location: State of Confusion

Post by basejumper » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:09 pm

hellboy1975 said
Old forum will be coming down shortly! Looks like no one really cares about old threads being migrated across (myself included).


may be worth saving...


Framing posters

It has a lot of good info and photos.

 

 

 

 
Professor of Lesbian Science

Calfium Jay
Geacon
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:41 pm

Post by Calfium Jay » Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:38 pm

How do you quote a post? And seperate the quoted text from the text you are adding. I try and it all comes out in the one big blue quote box!!!

 

 

 

User avatar
hellboy
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:01 pm
Height: 182cm
Contact:

Post by hellboy » Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:44 pm

I just unfucked it for you.  Technically too many blockquote tags - not sure how you got it to that point though.

Editing quoted stuff isn't super easy on this forum, that's for sure.  Not sure what I can do about it though to be honest.

The key I think is to take not of the indentation of your post.

James
Fanboi
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:23 pm

Post by James » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:35 pm

If this has been answered previously I apologize for the repeat ask, but is there no way to change our avatars right now? I created an image to the precise dimensions thinking it might be a resizing issue, but I still haven't been successful in changing mine. It's not a huge deal, just curious.

User avatar
hellboy
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:01 pm
Height: 182cm
Contact:

Post by hellboy » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:37 pm

James said
If this has been answered previously I apologize for the repeat ask, but is there no way to change our avatars right now? I created an image to the precise dimensions thinking it might be a resizing issue, but I still haven't been successful in changing mine. It's not a huge deal, just curious.


I'll give it a try shortly and let you know.

Gravatars should work fine though: https://en.gravatar.com/

James
Fanboi
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:23 pm

Post by James » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:11 pm

Ah, this is much better! Very cool.

User avatar
UndKeineZwEier
has a small dick
Posts: 8661
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:10 am
Location: (c is da toot of crakter)

Post by UndKeineZwEier » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:37 pm



 

Clicking that arrow will take you to the last post in a thread.
Don't mow your lawn

Post Reply