Do you download or buy your music?

Music in all its forms and styles
sacredfire
Bronco's Fan

Post by sacredfire »

By download I mean "illegal" copying/file sharing etc.

I tend to buy music, I like to have a cd or vinyl, the cover art and having something "real" in your hands. Also better sound quality, even 320kbps mp3 is lower in quality then a cd, but I believe .flac files are lossless or the same quality?. I'm a musician/trained as a soundtech/audiophile

I do however illegally acquire some music. Stuff I can't get easily, or at a reasonable price. And sometimes I just decide that the artist already has enough money and I don't want to give them anymore! I often download stuff only to buy it later, and I stream a lot of music from internet radio stations and that.

So what's your take on this?

eyepod
of Arimathea

Post by eyepod »

I buy CD's and some vinyl,mainly for the reasons mentioned above.but I figure the artist deserves my money.

A bit of an audiophile myself,I think Flac files are supposed to be as good as CDs,but I haven't personally varified it.
The Boss
LSDeeeeeee
Height: Not A Fucking Manlet

Post by The Boss »

How can you say that you're a "musician/trained as a soundtech/audiophile" and not know if FLAC sounds the same as CD-quality?

I pirate and buy physical when/if I can. The whole industry is a joke now, so unless you're buying directly from the artist, they're probably not getting shit.

Bands and musicians make money from touring and merchandise, and I have no problem giving my cash to go see a show and buy a T-shirt.
O love will you read the letters I will send to you.
jabuddha
Bronco's Fan

Post by jabuddha »

I buy.

I will download a bootleg, but that's not stealing. so, yea...buying is the way to go.